[Novalug] Internet email servers (maybe off topic)
Brandon Saxe
brandon20va at yahoo.com
Wed Oct 21 11:03:31 EDT 2009
Again a disclaimer: I am no mail expert and this is my first attempt at setting up a legitimate SMTP outbound host to the internet.....
And another note.... I have already set up DNS, rDNS, and an SPF record for my host vger.cadencequest.com with IP 66.95.81.102.
And in response to your response......
Which MTA do you recommend once I can get a Linux box doing this work instead of IIS/SMTP? Postfix or Exim?
Do you know if either of these can drop the private IP and masquerade as the first sender. Take a look at this header when I send mail to my hosting provider (they use Exchange):
Received: from p01c12m042.mxlogic.net (10.2.3.200) by
in001.collaborationhost.net (10.2.0.48) with Microsoft SMTP Server (TLS) id
8.1.336.0; Tue, 20 Oct 2009 17:45:35 -0500
Received: from unknown [66.95.81.102] (EHLO vger.cadencequest.com) by
p01c12m042.mxlogic.net(mxl_mta-6.4.0-1) with ESMTP id
85e3eda4.0.145772.00-002.222450.p01c12m042.mxlogic.net (envelope-from
<testing at cadencequest.com>); Tue, 20 Oct 2009 16:48:56 -0600 (MDT)
Received: from [127.0.0.1] ([10.1.1.132]) by vger.cadencequest.com with
Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.3959); Tue, 20 Oct 2009 18:48:55 -0400
Message-ID: <4ADE3E57.10204 at cadencequest.com>
Date: Tue, 20 Oct 2009 18:48:55 -0400
From: Testing <testing at cadencequest.com>
User-Agent: Thunderbird 2.0.0.23 (Windows/20090812)
MIME-Version: 1.0
To: <bsaxe at cadencequest.com>
Subject: test from inside to mx logic
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="ISO-8859-1"; format=flowed
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Return-Path: testing at cadencequest.com
X-OriginalArrivalTime: 20 Oct 2009 22:48:55.0816 (UTC) FILETIME=[81092880:01CA51D7]
X-Spam: [F=0.2727272924; B=0.500(0); spf=0.500; CM=0.500; MH=0.500(2009102041); R=0.600(109920135825); S=0.200(2009101401); SC=none]
X-MAIL-FROM: <testing at cadencequest.com>
X-SOURCE-IP: [66.95.81.102]
X-AnalysisOut: [v=1.0 c=1 a=ZmihKUyoeEcUd3hiEwlvtA==:17 a=g7MP8qffo_0StfaZ]
X-AnalysisOut: [RBAA:9 a=ZuWXvylsVc6KpnLI_VAyXBQydAoA:4]
X-MS-Exchange-Organization-PRD: cadencequest.com
X-MS-Exchange-Organization-SenderIdResult: SoftFail
Received-SPF: SoftFail (AUSP01MHUB01.collaborationhost.net: domain of
transitioning testing at cadencequest.com discourages use of 10.1.1.132 as
permitted sender)
X-MS-Exchange-Organization-SCL: 5
X-MS-Exchange-Organization-PCL: 2
X-MS-Exchange-Organization-Antispam-Report: DV:3.3.5705.600;SID:SenderIDStatus SoftFail;OrigIP:10.1.1.132
I want to avoid this:
SoftFail;OrigIP:10.1.1.132
I don't know why this receiving server is using the MUA sender as the OrigIP. It seems the source IP is what I would expect: X-SOURCE-IP: [66.95.81.102], but it is using OrigIP for the SPF check. Maybe the admin of this server has configured their SFP checker incorrectly?
When I send the same mail to gmail or yahoo, it uses my internet facing server with IP of 66.95.81.102 and passes SPF just fine, which is what I expected to happen.
I want the MTA to make it look like the original sender is always my mail server with the public IP address if this is possible.
TIA,
Brandon
--- On Tue, 10/20/09, James Ewing Cottrell 3rd <JECottrell3 at Comcast.NET> wrote:
> From: James Ewing Cottrell 3rd <JECottrell3 at Comcast.NET>
> Subject: Re: [Novalug] Internet email servers (maybe off topic)
> To: "Brandon Saxe" <brandon20va at yahoo.com>
> Cc: novalug at calypso.tux.org, "Nick Danger" <nick at hackermonkey.com>
> Date: Tuesday, October 20, 2009, 1:02 PM
> Make your Smart Hosts a pair of Linux
> Boxes, one for inbound, one for outbound, each backing the
> other up. You don't need to run SMTP Auth inside your LAN.
> And the Linux Host shouldn't rewrite any Headers, even if it
> does SMTP Auth to your ISP's relays.
>
> Never Let a M$ MTA talk to the Internet.
>
> JIM
>
> Brandon Saxe wrote:
> > I wish I could do that, but it doesn't seem to work
> that way. When I set up the IIS SMTP relay the way it is
> currently, it only allows to send email from one address.
> >
> > I have a mailbox set up on the provider with address
> noreply at domain.com.
> This is also the user name for SMTP-AUTH. When I send emails
> to this relay, the FROM: mail address also has to be noreply at domain.com
> (same as the primary email on the mailbox) or else the auth
> rejects the mail.
> >
> > I want to be able to send mail from multiple email
> addresses such as:
> > -noreply at domain.com
> > -backupserver at domain.com
> > -support at domain.com
> > -so on and so forth.
> >
> > Currently, the only supported address is noreply at domain.com
> because that is the addresss associated to the smtp-auth
> account. My company's provider seems to be pretty lame so
> far in helping me with this. In fact, they don't even
> support my using this mailbox as a relay account as it is.
> Of course, I only chatted with first level support. If I
> can't get resolution I'll be forced to talk to some
> management.
> >
> > Any other thoughts/ideas?
> >
> > Thanks!
> >
> > --- On Tue, 10/13/09, Nick Danger <nick at hackermonkey.com>
> wrote:
> >
> >> From: Nick Danger <nick at hackermonkey.com>
> >> Subject: Re: [Novalug] Internet email servers
> (maybe off topic)
> >> To: novalug at calypso.tux.org
> >> Date: Tuesday, October 13, 2009, 8:19 PM
> >> On Tue, 13 Oct 2009 16:56:07 -0700
> >> (PDT)
> >> Brandon Saxe <brandon20va at yahoo.com>
> >> wrote:
> >>
> >>> Are my assumptions correct? Will this work? Is
> there a
> >> better way
> >>> (aside from my dumping my provider or hosting
> mail
> >> myself)?
> >>
> >> Cant you just set up a single host on your lan to
> be a
> >> smart relay?
> >> That host would accept the email from all the
> other hosts
> >> on your lan
> >> (including those old ones that cant do smtp-auth)
> then the
> >> smart host
> >> would send all the mail via smtp-auth through your
> current
> >> provider.
> >>
> >> How would that work?
> >>
> >> Nick
> >> _______________________________________________
> >> Novalug mailing list
> >> Novalug at calypso.tux.org
> >> http://calypso.tux.org/mailman/listinfo/novalug
> >>
> > _______________________________________________
> > Novalug mailing list
> > Novalug at calypso.tux.org
> > http://calypso.tux.org/mailman/listinfo/novalug
> >
> >
> >
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> >
> >
> > No virus found in this incoming message.
> > Checked by AVG - www.avg.com Version: 8.5.421 / Virus
> Database: 270.14.12/2431 - Release Date: 10/12/09 13:01:00
> >
>
>
More information about the Novalug
mailing list