[Novalug] WhoisGuard: What does this mean?

Bonnie Dalzell bdalzell at qis.net
Sun Oct 12 10:24:10 EDT 2008


On Sun, 12 Oct 2008, W Alan Day wrote:

WAD >I got the following in email from my domain registration service. What is it and what does it mean (other than they want more money)?
WAD >
WAD >------
WAD >Namecheap.com
WAD >WhoisGuard renewal notice 
WAD >Date: 10/9/2008
WAD >
WAD >This notice is to inform you that one of your WhoisGuard is expiring
WAD >soon. Please act fast and renew the WhoisGuard as soon as possible. 
WAD >The details of the WhoisGuard are provided below.
WAD >

there are a lot of companies who try and get you to register your domain 
names with them. i get hardcopy letters and e-mails all the time offering 
to chge my domain name registrations to some registrar other than 
directnic for merely 4 or 5 times what i pay directnic.

unless you signed up with whoisguard i would ignore the notice.

whois guard is a separate service from domain name registration

here is a discussion of the try and get you to change registrar scam:

http://www.mezzoblue.com/archives/2008/07/16/domain_regis/



WAD >-- 
WAD >W. Alan Day <dayalan at nova.org>     703-860-0181 (H)
WAD >"Day Hikes in the Metro Area (no pun intended)"
WAD >http://DayHikes.info  http:/DayHikes.info/Days_of_Yore
WAD >
WAD >_______________________________________________
WAD >Novalug mailing list
WAD >Novalug at calypso.tux.org
WAD >http://calypso.tux.org/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/novalug
WAD >

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
                       Bonnie Dalzell, MA
mail:5100 Hydes Rd PO Box 60, Hydes,MD,USA 21082-0060|EMAIL:bdalzell at qis.net

freelance anatomist, vertebrate paleontologist, writer, illustrator, dog
breeder, computer nerd & iconoclast... Borzoi info at www.borzois.com.
Editor Net.Pet Online Animal Magazine  - http://www.netpetmagazine.com
HOME http://www.qis.net/~borzoi/          BUSINESS http://www.batw.com




More information about the Novalug mailing list